The Mayor of Wrocław Invites You

Dear Delegates,

In 2017 the City of Wrocław will have the honour of being the host of the IFLA World Library and Information Congress. We are very proud of this fact since Poland was the host country for the IFLA congress only twice – in 1936 and 1959. Therefore, Wrocław will have a great opportunity to present the changes which have taken place in the Polish library science over the past years. On 19-25 August 2017 Wrocław will put at your disposal all its scientific back-up, cultural richness, and a wide range of opportunities to spend your free time.

Over the past few years Wrocław has significantly developed the library infrastructure. The University of Wrocław has a new modern building of the University Library. There is also a new library of the Wrocław University of Technology, a modern venue established with the application of the IT infrastructure and innovative technologies. One of the most excellent libraries in Wrocław is the National Ossoliński Institute which was built in 1817 and is one of the most important Polish cultural centres with its outstanding library stocks. The dynamic development of municipal libraries in Wrocław is also worth emphasizing. The cooperation with librarians contributes to their prestige connected to the fact that in 2016/2017 Wrocław holds the World Book Capital title.

Wrocław is full of positive energy. The dynamic economic development, innovativeness, rich history and cultural diversity make Wrocław a place where every participant of the congress will find something of interest for them.

I would like to kindly invite you to visit Wrocław and to take part in the Congress which is an extremely important event, both for Wrocław and for Poland, due to the fact that the Congress will bring together so many exceptional worldwide experts. The Congress will take place in an amazing setting: the Centennial Hall which is listed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site due to its being of special cultural significance. Wrocław eagerly awaits your arrival!


Rafał Dutkiewicz